NE KY AHEC Celebrates New, Continuing, and Graduating Rural Health Scholars


On June 15, the Northeast AHEC held its eighth annual Rural Health Scholars banquet for the incoming, current, and graduating scholars. The 10 graduating scholars will be attending eight different universities across the state. They are: Jayde Preece, of Elliott County, and Tanner Eldridge, of Carter County attending Eastern Kentucky University; Brandy Hall of Rowan County, and Jessica Copher of Bath County attending Morehead State University; Elizabeth Moss of Mason County attending Murray State University; Karissa Alcala of Menifee County attending Northern Kentucky University; Brandon Bailey of Bath County attending Transylvania University; Colton Thayer of Lewis County attending the University of Kentucky; Aaron Adams, of Morgan County attending the University of Pikeville; and Taylor McGuire of Menifee County attending Western Kentucky University.  Each of these students received various scholarships in order to help pay for their education.

The nine current scholars will be moving up to their senior year of high school. They will continue to job shadow in different health care disciplines within the Northeast AHEC’s 17-county region, perform community service in their home counties, and complete homework assignments to give them a deeper knowledge of health careers. These nine students are Caleb Burrows, Nina LaBarbera, Eura Shin, and Audrey Staton of Rowan County; Laurel Enix, Katelyn Kamer, and Taylor Ruark of Lewis County; Dillan Lindon of Morgan County; and Hannah Maness of Menifee County.

Lastly, there are 17 incoming Rural Health Scholars from seven different counties. These students will be introduced to health careers through a new program called Scrubs Club, which was introduced by the Catskill Hudson AHEC in Highland, N.Y. Scrubs Club is a health exploration program for high school students designed to introduce participants to various health care careers through hands-on activities and real-life experiences. The incoming students are: Bethany Allen of Morgan County; Jennah Baier, Geoffrey Bennett, Lauren Fazenbaker, Hannah Gillette, and Nitya Kumar of Boyd County; Madison Boyd of Bath County; Autumn Cole of Montgomery County; Kendra Cornette and Nicole King of Lewis County; Abby LeMaster, Morgan Markwell, Samantha McGraw, and Katelyn McWain of Morgan County; Presley Ramey of Elliott County; and Hannah Tatman and Carrigan Wasilchenko of Powell County.

Back to News Listing