Summer Health Internship Program Kicks Off June 3


Eleven regional students have been selected to participate in the Summer Health Internship Program (SHIP), a paid six-week internship for undergraduate health professions students administered by the Northeast Kentucky Area Health Education Center (NE KY AHEC).

Entering its fourth year, SHIP places students in health care facilities across the NE KY AHEC’s 17-county region.  This year, SHIP received funding assistance from the Bath County Board of Education, Meadowview Regional Medical Center, Kentucky Telecare, and the St. Claire Family Medicine Residency Program.

"Through SHIP, selected students from our region participate in hands-on activities that reinforce and expand upon their classroom knowledge," said David A. Gross, director of the NE KY AHEC. "The program is intended to enrich participants’ educational experiences, thus preparing them to be better health care professionals, hopefully within northeastern Kentucky."

SHIP participants will intern at their designated mentoring site from June 6 through July 15, where they will be working on projects that address a variety of community and public health issues.  Students will present their project orally on July 18 at the Center for Health Education and Research in Morehead.  

SHIP links undergraduate students with clinics, health departments, hospitals, and other health-focused organizations in northeastern Kentucky. Projects vary widely to suit interns’ interests and abilities as well as local program needs. On-site mentors provide technical support and help interns gain an understanding of the broad range of community and public health activities undertaken at the local level.

For more information on SHIP click here.

Intern  Hometown  School   SHIP Host Site
 Ashley Bayes  Grayson  University of Kentucky  Bath County Board of Education 
 Shalyn Carter  Owingsville  Morehead State University  Meadowview Regional Medical Center
 Amy Evans  West Liberty  Morehead State University  Sterling Health Solutions, Inc.
 Amanda Fannin  Vanceburg  Ashland Community & Technical College  Northeast Kentucky Regional Health Information Organization
 Morgan Ferguson  West Liberty  Morehead State University   Clark Regional Medical Center
 Tierra Folsom  Pikeville  Morehead State University   UK Rural Physician Leadership Program
 Danielle Palmer  Murphy, NC  Morehead State University   Clark Regional Medical Center
 Kelsey Stumbo  Grayson  Eastern Kentucky University  Paige Smith Therapeutics
 Madison Tackett  Grayson  Kentucky Christian University   Kentucky TeleCare
 Celena Wagner  Flemingsburg  Morehead State University  St. Claire Regional Family Medicine Residency Program
 Kaitlyn Yeary  Maysville  Morehead State University  Meadowview Regional Medical Center

Back to News Listing